Seven students receive Samuel E. Wood Medallion for leadership

Students receive leadership Medallion

By University Communications
May 7, 2012
Students receive leadership Medallion

Photo: Winners of the Samuel E. Wood Medallion with Samuel E. Wood

Seven UW-Stout students recently received the Samuel E. Wood Medallion, the highest and most prestigious nonacademic award, and 10 other individuals and groups were honored at the Leadership Awards Banquet.

The medallion is presented annually to seniors for their student activities, leadership and scholastic ability. Only 1 percent of the student body is eligible. The winners and their majors are: Lakayana Drury, of Madison, applied social science; Kelsy Gaida, of Vadnais Heights, Minn., psychology; Ryan Konz, of Appleton, business administration; Shannon Maanum, of Amery, retail merchandising and management; Cecily Rentz, of Excelsior, Minn., psychology; Camille Thorson, of Edina, Minn., applied science; and Ivone Vazquez, of Abbotsford, business administration.

Other award winners for the 2011-12 academic year are: Juliana Lucchesi, of West Allis, advocate; Chelsea Culver, of Pulaski, volunteer; Kazmir Teuteburg, of Delafield, outstanding student employee; Professor Nancy Murray, Student Retail Association, adviser of the year; and Nate Daniels, of Medford, outstanding student leader.

Also honored were: Memorial Student Center staff for student staff team-group of the year; Stout Retail Association for best organization; Stout Optimists for best cooperative event, international charity project; Gamma Sigma Sigma for best service event, Red Cross blood drive; and Gender and Sexuality Alliance for best social event, drag show.

Photo: Winners of the Samuel E. Wood Medallion, with Samuel E. Wood, back center, are front row from left Lakayana Drury, Ivone Vazquez and Ryan Konz. Back row, Kelsy Gaida, Cecily Rentz, Wood, Camille Thorson and Shannon Maanum.