UW-Stout News Story

Students, faculty receive Research Day awards

May 2, 2012

Students and faculty recently received awards for their contributions to research at University of Wisconsin-Stout.

The awards were presented during Research Day, sponsored by Research Services, and featured more than 90 student and faculty projects.

The Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award went to four students:
•  Lakayana Drury, of Madison, a senior in applied social science
•  Brittany E. Johnson, of Menomonie, a senior in science education
•  Jacob Youngblood, of Woodbury, Minn., a senior with double majors: hospitality and tourism, business administration
•  Cody Lewandowski, of Fall Creek, a junior in information technology management

The Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program Senior Scholar Award went to:
•  Lacey Holzer, of Hammond, dietetics
•  Susan LoRusso, of Luck, food systems and technology
•  Kirk Coughlin, of Menomonie, applied science
•  Josephine Kilde, of Menomonie, information and communication technologies

Among faculty, Brian McAlister, director of the School of Education, was named Senior Outstanding Researcher. Jennifer Grant, biology, was named Emerging Outstanding Researcher.

Library Research Scholars named were:
•  Lopamudra Basu, Honors Program, English and philosophy
•  James Burritt, biology
•  Jennifer Grant, biology
•  Maleka “Polly” Hashmi, biology
•  Jerry Kapus, English and philosophy
•  Amanda Little, biology
•  Joan Navarre, English and philosophy
•  Stephen Nold, biology
•  Marlann Patterson, physics
•  Sarah Wood, psychology
•  Todd Zimmerman, physics

The UW System Teaching Fellows Award went to Johanna “Jo” Hopp, physics, and Maleka “Polly” Hashmi, biology.

Laura Schmidt, mathematics, was named Stout Teaching Scholar.

Petra Mohr, M.S. program in technical and professional communication, received the Sheri Nero Award. It is presented by the Women’s Studies minor program for the best analytical essay or project on women or gender.

The statewide WiSys Innovation Scholar Award was presented to Kenneth Smith, Discovery Center, for his work with fuel cells. For details, go to http://www.uwstout.edu/news/UW-Stout-News-Story.cfm?formID=2198&pageID=93313.


View all news items