UW-Stout News Story

‘Cabaret’ opens April 13 at Harvey

March 27, 2012

A popular Broadway musical, with such songs as “Wilkommen,” “Don’t Tell Mama” and “The Money Song,” will bring the stage to life in April at University of Wisconsin-Stout.

“Cabaret” will be performed at 7:30 p.m. April 13-14 and April 19-21 at historic Harvey Hall Theatre, which reopened last year after extensive renovations. Tickets are $12 and can be purchased at http://tickets.uwstout.edu or by calling 715-232-1431.

“Cabaret” won the Tony Award for Best Musical when it debuted in 1966. It won another Tony in 1998 for Best Revival of a Musical. It also was made into a movie in 1972 starring Liza Minnelli.

The show’s eccentric cast of characters, debauchery and enticing music draw the audience into a Berlin nightclub in 1931, during the rise of the Third Reich. The story helps reveal how the Nazi Party was able to thrive and the eventual stark realities club patrons faced.

UW-Stout Theater Director Paul Calenberg will direct and choreograph the musical with a cast of 16 students, along with two student stage managers.

The musical contains mature content and situations.

Lead roles will be played by:

•  Jack Lazorik, as MC. He is a sophomore from Shoreview, Minn., majoring in psychology

•  Kaitlyn Rabuck, as Fraulein Schneider. She is a freshman from Germantown majoring in vocational rehabilitation

•  Kevin Roland, as Cliff. He is a sophomore from Middleton majoring in science education

•  Kelsey Schauer, as Sally. She is a senior from Winona, Minn., majoring in dietetics

Other students in supporting roles, in the chorus and as stage managers are: Kelsey Aleckson, of Cross Plains; Isaac Bont, of St. Croix Falls; Jessica Dzienkowski, of Chippewa Falls; Ben Greenlee, of Oconto Falls; Neil Knuth, of Plymouth; Tylynn Ludwig, of Oconto Falls; Jeffrey Martin, of Prairie du Chien; Elizabeth Merrill, of Rochester, Minn.; Kaia Morck, of North St. Paul, Minn.; Alyssa Smith, of Menomonie; Sean Porten, of Medford; Jeff Werner, of Waseca, Minn.; Matthew Darius Stoutenburg, of Hayward; and Laura Vollmuth, of Eagan, Minn.


View all news items