Press Release Details

Assistant chancellor named to Baldrige Board of Examiners

July 31, 2014

The U.S. Commerce Department's National Institute of Standards and Technology has named Meridith Drzakowski of University of Wisconsin-Stout to the Board of Examiners for the 2014 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

The Baldrige is the nation's highest honor for organizational innovation and performance excellence.

In 2001 UW-Stout was the first and still is the only four-year educational institution to win the award. For more information, click here.

Appointed by the NIST director, examiners are responsible for reviewing and evaluating applications submitted for the Baldrige, as well as other assessment-related tasks. The examiner board is composed of more than 400 leading experts competitively selected from industry, professional, trade, education, health care, nonprofit and government organizations across the country.

Meridith DrzakowskiThose selected meet the highest standards of qualification and peer recognition, demonstrating competencies related to customer focus, communication, ethics, action orientation, team building and analytical skills.

All members of the board must take part in a nationally ranked leadership development course based on the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence and the scoring/evaluation processes for the Baldrige Award.

Drzakowski is an assistant chancellor for Planning, Assessment, Research and Quality at UW-Stout. The PARQ office is responsible for strategic planning and accountability, institutional research and assessment, university accreditation, quality initiatives, university policies and the Applied  Research Center, which specializes in providing research and evaluation services to other educational institutions.

She also serves as a peer reviewer for the Higher Learning Commission. 

Drzakowski has a doctorate from the University of Minnesota in educational policy and administration. She has been involved extensively with Baldrige efforts at UW-Stout, presenting on strategic planning, leadership and performance measurement. This is her fourth year as a Baldrige examiner and her first year as a senior examiner.

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th secretary of Commerce, the award was established by Congress in 1987.

Awards may be given annually to organizations in each of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, health care and nonprofit. The award promotes innovation and excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations and publicizes successful performance strategies.

Since 1988, 95 organizations have received Baldrige awards, including the 2013 winners: Pewaukee School District, Pewaukee, and Sutter Davis Hospital, Davis, Calif.

NIST manages the Baldrige Award in close conjunction with the private sector.

For information on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program and the Baldrige Award application process, go to the website.



Meridith Drzakowski


Full Site