Press Release Details

Student musicians present Winter Concert, Jazz from Harvey

November 26, 2012

Aaron DurstAaron M. Durst, UW-Stout band director, will conduct both concerts. Tickets are $5 and are available at the Service Center in the student center, 715-232-1122, online and at the door.

Winter Concert

The Symphonic Band will perform selections that present a combination of original band repertoire with classics from history and the orchestral tradition.

The concert will begin with an exciting new composition titled “Scramble,” by Todd Stalter, followed by Robert W. Smith’s new composition that serves as a musical portrayal of Emilia Earhart titled “Earhart,” and Robert Buckley’s innovative “Continuum.”

The band will perform an arrangement of one of the first instrumental compositions by Giovanni Gabrieli, “Sonata Pian e Forte,” a transcription of Wolfgang Mozart’s “Trauermusik,” and Amilcare Ponchielli’s popular light classic piece “Galop.”

Holiday music selections will include Mannheim Steamroller’s “Fanfare and Hark! The Herald Angels Sing,” and “A Classic Christmas” arranged by Douglas Wagner.

Students performing in small ensembles also will be part of the program. A woodwind quintet will perform Henry Purcell’s “Prelude and Air” and “Allegro” from George Handel’s opera “Tamerlano.” The percussion section will be featured in a rhythmically exciting composition by Chris Brooks titled “Millennium.”

Jazz from Harvey

The Blue Devil Jazz Band and Jazz Embers combo will perform. Joining them will be guest band Troppo Jazz Orchestra, a community group from Chippewa Falls that features musicians of all ages with many years of performing experience. It is led by Robert Heintz, Sr.

The repertoire will feature a number of soloists playing in the jazz, ballad, Latin and funk styles, making it a concert to appeal to any listener.

Music performed will include traditional big band era favorites “In the Mood,” “American Patrol,” “Blue Skies” and “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy.” Also included will be the standard “West Coast Blues,” a lively New Orleans style composition titled “Little Big Gumbo,” a swinging shuffle “Out of the Doghouse,” a new funk composition “Breakout” and a samba “Zaragoza.” Holiday music by Stan Kenton, “Christmas for Moderns,” and Vince Guaraldi’s “Peanuts Suite” also will be performed.


Full Site