Press Release Details

Rube Goldberg teams hope to nail down a regional victory

March 4, 2013

A total of 13 teams, five more than in 2012, comprising 156 students and 13 advisers are scheduled to compete. They are Amery, Chippewa Falls, Greenwood, Kimberly, Loyal, Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf, Owen-Withee, Plum City, Siren, South Shore, Spring Valley, Thorp and Unity.

Rube Goldberg competitors in 2012The winner of the regional contest is eligible to advance to the national tournament Saturday, March 16, at Waukesha County Technical College in Pewaukee.

Teams are challenged to create a standard-size machine that turns a simple procedure into something complicated. The machines are judged on creativity and functionality. This year’s national challenge is to hammer a nail in 20 steps or more. To learn more, click here.

The event is named after an early 20th century engineer and cartoonist whose work spoofed modern machinery.

The contest will be held in the Great Hall of the Memorial Student Center, beginning with an opening ceremony at 10 a.m. and the first round at 10:30 a.m. The second round begins at 12:30 p.m. and the final round at 1:45 p.m., followed by an awards ceremony at 3:30 p.m. The public can view the machines and talk to team members from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

The event is hosted by the UW-Stout Technology Education Collegiate Association. The major sponsors are Phillips-Medisize, OEM Fabricators and Greenheck Fan.


Full Site