Chancellor Charles W. Sorenson

Since the early 1970’s, the University of Wisconsin-Stout has offered students a world class education to prepare them for exciting careers in the hospitality and tourism industries. The new School of Hospitality Leadership will advance UW-Stout’s reputation in the following fields of study:

  • Bachelor of Science in Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management
  • Bachelor of Science. in Golf Enterprise Management
  • Bachelor of Science in Property Management
  • Minor or certificate in Gaming Entertainment and Management
  • Certificate in Event and Meeting Management

With the guidance of industry executive Bill Otto, a 1978 UW-Stout graduate, an Industry Executive Council has been formed to bridge the gap between UW-Stout and the hospitality and tourism industry.  The School of Hospitality Leadership Industry Executive Council is comprised of industry leaders: Joe Bartolotta, Craig Culver, Paul Ek, Todd Nelson, Rick Roman, Gary Steffen, and Steven Tyink.

UW-Stout graduate Steve Tyink from Miron Construction and SOHL program director Lt. Col. Brian Stout have provided extensive evaluation of the past and a vision for the future direction of school through the Leadership Transformation Study. The study, in partnership with the Industry Executive Council, will ensure our curriculum and labs are at the highest level possible to train our students to be future leaders in the hospitality industry.

I am pleased to welcome, Lalia Rach, Ed.D, who will join the faculty in the spring semester as associate dean of the College of Management and director of the School of Hospitality Leadership. I am confident Lalia will transform an already solid program into one with even greater national and international acclaim.

I want to express my sincere appreciation to the Industry Executive Council members, the faculty and our alumni who have so graciously supported UW-Stout in this endeavor.  We are committed at UW-Stout to making this school a success, and your continued involvement and support will be essential.

Chancellor Charles W. Sorensen

Chancellor Charles W. Sorenson