Academic Quality Improvement Program

AQIPlogoUniversity of Wisconsin-Stout participates in the Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP), a quality-based, continuous improvement model of accreditation through The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), a Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA).  

Based on the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Program, the AQIP model's review process delivers useful feedback to participating institutions while providing assurance of institutional quality to NCA and other audiences.

Participating institutions create and maintain a Systems Portfolio describing the organization’s systems for getting its work done and accomplishing its goals. The Systems Portfolio is organized around the nine AQIP categories:   

  1. Helping Students Learn
  2. Accomplishing Other Distinctive Objectives
  3. Understanding Students' and Other Stakeholders' Needs
  4. Valuing People
  5. Leading and Communicating
  6. Supporting Institutional Operations
  7. Measuring Effectiveness
  8. Planning Continuous Improvement
  9. Building Collaborative Relationships

A set of questions in each category examines systems or groups of processes common to higher education institutions. These questions ask us to describe:

  • the context for the system,
  • the key processes used to accomplish goals,
  • the performance results obtained with current processes, and
  • how the organization uses results data to improve and enhance the system

UW-Stout's System Portfolio will be updated annually to reflect changes in our systems and processes. If you have any questions regarding this report or its contents, please contact Julie Furst-Bowe, Provost.