University Staff Senate

2017-2018 University Staff Senate (USS)

USS Photo 2017

First Row Left to Right: Michelle Klass, Diane Longsdorf, Jeremy Janiak, Dana Stone, Lisa Miller, Catherine Martin, Jennifer Tack; Second Row Left to Right: Jason Jenson, Robin Sweeney, Mike Smith, Josh Schram, Bonni Falkner, Josh Entzminger, Aimee Lipke; Not pictured:  Tara Boyette

UW-Stout has contracted with Empathia, Inc. to provide free and confidential assistance, through a program called LifeMatters, to employees and members of their household seeking mental healthcare, financial consulting, legal advice and other resources that promote a healthy work/life balance.  For more details and a list of services click on "LifeMatters" (UW-Stout intranet login required).


January Professional Development Week 2017

The USS hosted Wayne Larrivee for January Professional Development week in the MSC Great Hall.  The event was open to all staff, faculty, students and the community.  Larrivee presented on the importance of communication and leadership. Attendees were also provided the opportunity to receive autographs and photos with the ‘Voice of Green Bay Football.’

USS Larrivee

Left to Right: Bonni Falkner, Robin Sweeny, Wayne Larrivee, Michelle Klass, Don Gjestson, Jeremy Janiak, Justin Krahn, Josh Entzminger, Jenn Nichols, Dana Stone

 2017 Entzminger Plaque

Jason Jenson, USS Vice Chair, presented Josh Entzminger, USS Chair, a plaque as appreciation for his two years of serving as USS Chair. 

Shared Governance

On September 6, 2013, Board of Regents adopted Regent Policy Document 20-20, under which university staff may participate in institutional governance.

Policy Statement:

  • Provide its university staff members the opportunity to be active participants in the immediate governance of and policy development of the institution;
  • Provide its university staff members the full participation in the formulation and review, and presentation in the development, of all policies and procedures concerning university staff members, including university staff personnel matters, except where state law preempts UW System policy; and
  • Provide its university staff members the right to structure themselves in a manner in which they determine, and to select their representatives to participate in institutional governance.

Our Purpose: 

  • To engage university staff in the development and promotion of professional development and recognition activities
  • To create opportunities to provide input on issues that affect university staff
  • To facilitate communication among university staff and administrators

Goals and Objectives:

  • Coordinate university staff professional development opportunities
  • Coordinate the University Staff Employee Appreciation Award
  • Provide input on the development of programs that would benefit university staff
  • Provide recommendation for university staff representation on ad hoc committees and other university committees as requested
  • Provide recommendations on communication opportunities to university staff
  • Provide opportunities for communication

2016-2017 University Staff Employee Appreciation Award Annual Reception

At a reception held May 10, 2017 Chancellor Meyer recognized the 2016-2017 winners of the University Staff Employee Appreciation Award.  Christopher Essick, September month award winner,  won the drawing for the $350.00 annual prize.


2016-2017 USS Award Winners

Left to Right - 1st Row: Toni Burger, Christopher Essick, Dana Stone; 2nd Row: Jake Fox, Kate Martin, Tara Boyette; 3rd Row: Tom Dye, Chancellor Meyer, Justin Krahn, and Julie Hinchman-Adams

Inside Stout 2016-2017

A new employee cohort experience program for university staff and non-instructional academic staff.

Learn More >>

University Staff Senate Chair

Mike Smith, Chair
(715) 232-2107