Students receive Wood Medallion, Leadership Awards

By University Communications
May 29, 2015
Lindsay Frank receives her Samuel E. Wood Medallion from Chancellor Bob Meyer

Photo: Lindsay Frank receives her Samuel E. Wood Medallion

Sixteen students have been named recipients of the Samuel E. Wood Medallion, the highest nonacademic honor at University of Wisconsin-Stout.

The award is given annually to seniors who have been active in student activities and exhibited an outstanding degree of leadership while at UW-Stout. Winners are chosen by a committee representing students, faculty and staff.

The Wood awards and Leadership Awards were presented recently at the annual Leadership Awards Reception sponsored by the Involvement Center and Stout Student Association.

Samuel E. Wood was a longtime assistant chancellor for Student Services/Dean of Students. He retired in 1991 and died in February 2013.

The Wood award recipients, their hometowns and majors are:

  • Cassandra Beckworth, of Chippewa Falls, applied social science
  • Jamie Boggs, of Nowthen, Minn., business administration
  • Megan Butler, of River Falls, vocational rehabilitation
  • Daniel Degallier, of Fountain City, business administration
  • Logan Ernster, of Johnsburg, Ill., industrial design
  • Lindsay Frank, of Owatonna, Minn., hotel, restaurant and tourism management
  • Amy Geislinger, of Woodbury, Minn., human development and family studies
  • Ashley Hackert, of Grafton, dietetics
  • Emma Haseman, of Forest Lake, Minn., retail merchandising and management
  • Haley Hesselberg, of Holmen, marketing and business education
  • LaShonda Lewis, of Beloit, hotel, restaurant and tourism management
  • Isabel Lexen, of Frederic, human development and family studies
  • Hannah Mead, of Fennimore, human development and family studies
  • Shelby Schuppe, of Fond du Lac, applied social science
  • Amanda Smith, of Hudson, environmental science
  • Evan Stickles, of Edina, Minn., environmental science

The 16 students are featured in a video as they discuss their involvement on campus and in the community. Go to

Chancellor Bob Meyer spoke at the reception and presented awards.

The Leadership Awards, also chosen by a committee composed of students and staff, were presented to the top individuals and organizations of the year:

  • Volunteer: Heidi Lochen, of Kimball, Minn., involved with Phil Upsilon Omicron, Stout Student Dietetic Association, Peer Health Educators, AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin
  • Advocate: Katie Quinn, of Edina, Minn., involved with Ally Club, Ally Initiatives, Honors College and Spreading Beautiful Body Image Summit
  • Outstanding Student Employee: Sonja Susnik, of Menomonie, Memorial Student Center event technology crew
  • Student Staff Team or Group: New Student Orientation Specialists
  • Adviser: Kate Edenborg, assistant professor, Stoutonia
  • Student Organization Event: Forum on Hate Incidents by Peace Initiatives, Black Student Union and Gender and Sexuality Alliance
  • Student Organization: Hmong Stout Student Organization
  • Outstanding Student Leader: Shelby Schuppe, of Fond du Lac, involved with Ethics Center, Ally Initiatives, Peace Initiatives and Stout Student Association

More information about the awards reception can be found at