Students receive Wood Medallion, leadership, co-op awards

By University Communications
May 17, 2017
Winners of the Samuel E. Wood Medallion for leadership at UW-Stout

Photo: Winners of the Samuel E. Wood Medallion for leadership at UW-Stout.

A Leadership Awards program for the 2016-17 academic year recognized nearly 90 students and student groups who were nominated at University of Wisconsin-Stout.

Winners were announced for the Samuel E. Wood Medallion and campus Leadership Awards for the 2016-17 academic year. Also, the Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award winners were named for the 2016 calendar year.

The reception was sponsored by the Involvement Center, Stout Student Association and Career Services and held in the Great Hall of the Memorial Student Center.

Wood Medallion

A total of 18 students received the Wood Medallion, given annually to seniors who have been active in student activities and exhibited an outstanding degree of leadership while at UW-Stout. Winners are chosen by a committee representing students, faculty and staff.

The medallion is the highest nonacademic award for students.

Samuel E. Wood was a longtime assistant chancellor for Student Services/Dean of Students. He retired in 1991 and died in February 2013.

The Wood award recipients, their hometowns and majors are:

  • Jared Allen, of Maple Grove, Minn., business administration
  • McKayla Brunner, of Elmwood, marketing and business education
  • Laura Donovan, of Platteville, applied social science
  • Molly Flesher, of Minneapolis, business administration
  • Michael Guzman, of Racine, manufacturing engineering
  • Anna Haggerty, of Rochester, Minn., graphic design and interactive media
  • Meghan Hammond, of Farmington, Minn., cross-media graphic management
  • Megan Hondl, of Lakeville, Minn., applied social science
  • Kenzie Krueger, of Buffalo City, hospitality, restaurant and tourism management
  • Brenna Lesnar, of Zimmerman, Minn., entertainment design
  • Gunther Melander, of Wilson, applied social science
  • Martha Meyer, of Middleton, applied social science
  • Corrine Prince, of Bloomer, early childhood education
  • Allison Roush, of Phillips, manufacturing engineering
  • Kallie Sersch, of Dodgeville, hotel, restaurant and tourism management
  • Michel Tume, of Roseville, Minn., graphic design and interactive media
  • Javante Watson-Hall, of Milwaukee, human development and family studies
  • Shelby Weiske, of Baldwin-Woodville, special education

Kaylee Jacobs, Outstanding Student Leader of the Year at UW-Stout

Leadership Awards

Winners of the annual Leadership Awards are chosen by a committee made up of students and staff. The winners are:

  • Volunteer of the Year: MacKaulie Krantz, of Mount Horeb
  • Advocate of the Year: Laura Steiner, of St. Paul
  • Student Staff Team or Group of the Year: University Dining Service, all units
  • Student Organization Event of the Year: Saudi Students Association, for the Hussain Alnahdi memorial dinner
  • Student Organization of the Year: Stout Events Society
  • Student Employee of the Year: Keller Grimmer, of New Richmond, with Memorial Student Center Design Team; and Noelle Sopotnick, of Poynette, with University Housing
  • Student Organization Adviser of the Year: Emily Ascher, for Blue Devil Productions
  • Outstanding Student Leader of the Year: Kaylee Jacobs, of Glenwood, Minn.

A total of 58 students were nominated for the awards and recognized at the reception.

To see a video about the Leadership Awards, click here.

Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award

The Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award was given to 14 students in the university’s Cooperative Education Program.

More than 1,000 students participated in co-ops in the past year. Through Career Services, students work in a paid position in their fields of study and receive academic credit.

The award winners are selected by the program’s Advisory Committee for excellence and achievements in their cooperative positions, for contributions to their employers and for academic achievement.

Co-op Student of the Year Award winners at UW-Stout

This year’s winners, their majors and employers are:

  • Matt Boudart, of Lake Villa, Ill., construction, Krugel Cobbles
  • Jens Bringsjord, of La Crosse, graphic design and interactive media, Adidas corporate
  • Ashley Burkhalter, of Minneapolis, business administration, Buffalo Wild Wings
  • Britta Burghardt, of Fall Creek, cross-media graphics management, Arandell Corp.
  • Josh Carr, of Minneapolis, construction, Kraus Anderson
  • Maria Grzywa, of Green Bay, cross-media graphics management, Global Printing
  • Brianne Hanne, of St. Paul, food science and technology, Buffalo Wild Wings
  • Vanessa Hinrichs, of Arkansaw, packaging, S.C. Johnson Co.
  • Alexandria Huggins, of Menomonie, applied science, Elite Medical Scribe
  • Ravinder Singh Kanger, of India, master’s in food and nutritional sciences, Chippewa Valley Bean Co.
  • Taylor Poss, of St. Michael, Minn., packaging, Pepsico
  • Nick Richards, of Eau Claire, manufacturing engineering, Loparex
  • Alyssa Rupp, of North Branch, Minn., graphic design and interactive media, St. Croix National Scenic Riverway
  • Peter Wikman, of Minneapolis, packaging, Kimberly-Clark Corp.

For more information about the co-op program, go to the Career Services website.



Middle Photo: Kaylee Jacobs, Outstanding Student Leader of the Year at UW-Stout

Bottom Photo: Co-op Student of the Year Award winners at UW-Stout.