S-STEM scholarships awarded to 24 students

S-STEM scholarships awarded to 24 students

By University Communications
September 17, 2012
Sarah Voeller, S-STEMScholar

Photo: UW-Stout Spotlight Photo

Twenty-four UW-Stout students have been awarded scholarships through a National Science Foundation grant for the 2012-13 academic year.

The scholarships are part of a $567,000 NSF S-STEM grant awarded in 2009 to Kitrina Carlson and Krista James from the biology department at UW-Stout. S-STEM stands for Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.

Other scholarships were awarded in 2010 and 2011 as part of the same grant. Carlson and James applied for the grant to increase access to science education, calling their S-STEM project “Polytechnic Mission, Applied Science Vision.” “The NSF S-STEM scholarship dollars have allowed us to recruit and retain some of the best science students in the region,” Carlson said. “More importantly, with these dollars we can offer greater access to higher education in the sciences.” The students, all applied science majors, are:  

  • Jordan D. Bauer, of Rice Lake  
  • Adam Cameron, of Hudson  
  • Kayla Chiasson, of Forest Lake, Minn.
  • Sean Doering, of Green Bay
  • Alex Flora, of Phillips
  • Connor Genrich, of Tomah
  • Henry Hansen, of Mora, Minn.  
  • Jeffrey Jackson, of Eau Claire
  • Aaron Johnson, of Red Wing, Minn.  
  • Ellen Jordan, of Marshfield
  • Sarah Kholos, of Los Angeles
  • Andrea Krueger, of Menomonie  
  • Lucas Lee, of Amery
  • Juliana Lucchesi, of West Allis  
  • Mary Marchiafava, of Mounds View, Minn.  
  • Morgan Pass, of Crystal, Minn.
  • Nathan Reese, of Minneapolis
  • Amanda Smith, of Hudson
  • Kelvin Smith, of Kenosha
  • Sarah Voeller, of Golden Valley, Minn.  
  • Ryan Veith, of Knapp  
  • Sheng Vue, of Holmen  
  • Anna Winfield, of Bloomer
  • Tom Xiong, of Appleton

Scholarship winners must be enrolled full time, show financial need and meet other requirements. Along with the funding, scholars receive academic benefits by meeting bi-monthly with their advisers, attending monthly applied science scholars meetings, partnering with advanced applied science scholars and acting as peer mentors during their second year in the program.  

The applied science program at UW-Stout offers five concentrations: biotechnology, environmental science, materials science, nanoscience and preprofessional programs.  

For more information, go to the program Applied Science program website or contact Carlson, 715-232-1248.