Two members added to Alumni Association Board of Directors

May 19, 2014

The Alumni Association at University of Wisconsin-Stout has named two board members and said goodbye to nine others.

Steve HawkensonAdditions to the Board of Directors are Steve Hawkenson, a 1992 graduate in industrial technology, and Doug Rohde, a 1989 graduate in hospitality and tourism management.

"Our board members strive to create lasting bonds while building trusting relationships and a strong connection among our alumni, students, faculty and university community," Fox said.

Hawkenson is director of operations for Quality Tool, a precision metal manufacturer in St. Paul. He brings to the board expertise in manufacturing, strategic planning, sourcing, business process development, vendor negotiations, multifacility management and Lean and Six Sigma continuous improvement.

"I am looking forward to continuing to promote the university in professional settings and to give back by connecting with alumni and current students. Our goal is to build upon UW-Stout's great reputation and to encourage growth," Hawkenson said.

Doug RohdeRohde is president and CEO of LHR Hospitality Management, which manages hotels, resorts and golf courses. The company, founded by Rohde, also has development and consulting divisions and operates properties in six states throughout the Upper Midwest.

Rohde previously was vice president at Sunstone Hotel Properties, which has 70 hotels, and has worked at Hilton, Marriott and Larken hotel corporations.

"I look forward to offering my knowledge and life experiences to the Alumni Association and to help continue building the successful path of mutual partnership with the university and its 67,000 alumni," Rohde said.

Fox thanked nine board members whose terms have expired after a total of 88 years of service:

  • Jeff Baryenbruch, 10 years, president 2010-12
  • Stephanie Brecke, nine years
  • Pat Cosgrove, 14 years, president 2008-10
  • Roy Emmons, 12 years
  • From left, Ken Frye, Pat Cosgrove, Sharon Nelsen, LaRue Pierce, Alison LaPoint and Jeff Baryenbruch.Ken Frye, nine years
  • Alison LaPoint, nine years, president 2012-14
  • Nancy Murray, six years
  • Sharon Nelson, nine years
  • LaRue Pierce, 10 years

The Alumni Association is seeking interested alumni "who reflect the values of UW-Stout" to fill vacancies on the board. Contact Fox.

UW-Stout, Wisconsin's Polytechnic University, has more than 9,300 students in 45 undergraduate majors and 23 graduate majors, including one doctoral degree. UW-Stout, established in 1891, prides itself on the success of its students in the workplace, with an employment rate at or above 97 percent for recent graduates. The university was awarded the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award in 2001.


Photo captions

Top: Steve Hawkenson

Middle: Doug Rohde

Bottom: From left, outgoing Alumni Association board members include Ken Frye, Pat Cosgrove, Sharon Nelsen, LaRue Pierce, Alison LaPoint and Jeff Baryenbruch.