Professor honored by Wisconsin School Counselor Association

March 17, 2017

The Wisconsin School Counselor Association, of Madison, has honored a UW-Stout faculty member.

Denise BrouillardDenise Brouillard, a professor in the School of Education, recently received the Mary Gehrke-McAllister Leadership Award for 2017. The award is given each year to an outstanding professional who has made significant impacts and contributed to the training of future school counselors, the WSCA said.

Brouillard “has devoted her professional career to preparing high quality school counselors for Wisconsin and states across the Midwest,” according to a nomination letter, and “has provided leadership, passion and expertise. She combines that with humility and a vision for the profession, its training programs and students. Through it all she brings warmth, humor and focus.”

Brouillard also was recognized for her contributions on the national level through her publications in the American Counseling Association’s Journal of Counseling and Development.

The WSCA Professional Recognition Committee selected finalists based on innovative school counseling programs, as well as leadership and advocacy skills to contribute to student advancement.

WSCA includes elementary, middle, high school and postsecondary school counselors, both practicing and retired. WSCA is focused on providing professional development opportunities, supporting comprehensive school counseling programs and giving voice to professional school counselors throughout the state.

UW-Stout’s Graduate School has a Master of Science program in school counseling.



Denise Brouillard