National packaging institute honors professor, two students

May 8, 2014

A University of Wisconsin-Stout professor and two students have been honored by the Institute of Packaging Professionals.

Robert Meisner, an assistant professor in the engineering and technology department, has been named recipient of the IoPP Member of the Year Award. He will receive the award at the AmeriStar and Visionary reception Tuesday, June 10, in New York.

Two UW-Stout packaging majors also will be honored at the event. Brandon Hokanson, of Sheboygan Falls, and Jennifer Lynn Liegl, of Gilman, each will receive $2,500 IoPP scholarships.

IoPP awarded five scholarships for 2014-15. The other winners are from Clemson University, Michigan State University and the Rochester Institute of Technology.

Robert MeisnerMeisner is director of the undergraduate packaging program at UW-Stout. "With more than 4,500 members, I am honored to be singled out and recognized by my peers for providing significant contributions to the association and industry," Meisner said.

The award recognizes a member who has made outstanding contributions to the IoPP and profession in the past year "and who has contributed in a major way to the progress and growth of the institute and the profession" over the years.

A native of Roseville, Minn., Meisner graduated from UW-Stout in 1994, earned a master's in packaging from Rochester Institute of Technology and worked in the industry before returning to UW-Stout in 2007 to teach.

He is a member of the IoPP board.

In 2013 Meisner was named Outstanding Educator of the Year by the Packaging Machinery Manufacturers Institute.

UW-Stout has one of the oldest packaging programs in the nation and a long track record of nearly 100 percent job placement of its graduates. For more information, go to the website



Robert Meisner