Chancellor, professor, students recognized by chamber

May 20, 2014

The chancellor, a professor and a group of students from University of Wisconsin-Stout were honored recently at the 51st annual Greater Menomonie Area Chamber of Commerce Excellence in Education banquet.

Chancellor Charles W. Sorensen was presented with a customized award thanking him for his hard work and service in higher education. The award, a large framed picture of the chancellor, included comments from faculty and staff in the background.

Sorensen announced his retirement for Aug. 15. He has been chancellor for 26 years.

Mark FentonMark Fenton, associate professor in business, was selected as the university’s Outstanding Educator of the Year based on student vote. Each year, the Dean of Students Office at UW-Stout asks students to nominate instructors. Fenton was the top vote-getter.

Provost Jackie Weissenburger attended the event and announced Fenton’s award. She called Fenton “a very dedicated and student-focused adviser and instructor. His positive attitude and his kind, helpful advice have earned him high marks from his students and colleagues.

“Perhaps partially because he continues to participate in professional development, this educator knows how to motivate and reach reluctant students. He uses online and applied learning techniques to foster critical thinking, and he has stepped up to become the primary adviser to students in the B.S. in business administration program,” Weissenburger said.

According to Kathy Cochran, chair of the business department, “Fenton is a very innovative instructor, yet is described as ‘down to earth’ by students in his classrooms. He brings his own enthusiasm for all things international to life for his students, and they respond favorably to his teaching style.”

The top 25 graduating undergraduate students, based on grade-point average, also were honored.

The top 25 graduating undergraduate students, based on grade-point average, were recognized at the Excellence in Education banquet.UW-Stout Top 25 Graduates
(Name, hometown, major)

Joel Anderson, Eau Claire, construction

Anthony Benik, Rice Lake, construction

Stephanie Clark, Shell Lake, hotel restaurant and tourism management

Matthew Dachel, Bloomer, plastics engineering

Amanda Davis, Humbird, vocational rehabilitation

Nelson Denn, Waseca, applied math and computer science

Kaitlyn Hafeman, Madison, hotel restaurant and tourism management

David Hayden, Delafield, manufacturing engineering

Tylynn Ludwig, Suring, dietetics

Logan Michels, Colfax, psychology

KendraMitchell, New Richmond, business administration

Theresa Olson, Minneapolis, applied science

Carl Ottestad, Osseo, engineering technology

Eric Pasket, White Bear Lake, Minn., manufacturing engineering

Steven Pax, Elmwood, plastics engineering

Michelle Rademacher, Minneapolis, packaging

Julie Randle, Kenosha, professional communication and emerging media

Brent Sarauer, Bloomer, applied science

Scott Schiller, Kenosha, management

Beau Schroeder, Viroqua, hotel restaurant and tourism management

Samantha Secraw, Colfax, human development and family studies

Sam Simmons, Boyd, engineering technology

Kaitlyn Suda, Greenwood, psychology

Michelle Theisen, Marshfield, dietetics

Kristin Ziehl, Greenville, human development and family studies