UW-Stout News Story

Bessert voted top professor; top 25 students named

May 24, 2013

A professor and a group of students who excelled in the classroom at University of Wisconsin-Stout have been honored for the 2012-13 academic year.

Michael Bessert, an associate professor of biology, was selected as the Outstanding Educator of the Year. He received the award at the 50th annual Greater Menomonie Area Chamber of Commerce Excellence in Education banquet, which honors high school and postsecondary students from Dunn County.

Bessert’s award was based on a student vote. Each year, the Dean of Students Office at UW-Stout asks students to nominate instructors. Bessert was the top vote-getter.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs Jackie Weissenburger attMichael Bessertended the event and announced Bessert’s award.

“He cares deeply about student learning and derives great satisfaction from helping a student reach beyond his or her comfort zone to learn something new or think about content in a novel way to extend knowledge.

His positive attitude and his attention to thorough preparation have earned him high marks from students, department chairs and colleagues.”

Along with Bessert, the top 25 graduating UW-Stout undergraduate students, based on grade-point average, were honored at the banquet. Commencement was May 11.

UW-Stout Top 25 Graduates
(Name, hometown, major)

Jennifer Anagnos, Wyoming, Minn., human development and family studies
George   Andrews, Eau Claire, information and communication technologies
Kay Buchanan, Sheboygan, management
Brooke Cairns, Eau Claire, vocational rehabilitation
Rachel Conner, Neillsville, psychology
Scott Deschler, Racine, management
Cassandra Dickow, La Crosse, retail merchandising and management
Brian Evans, Eau Claire, science education
Anne Gilbertson, Prairie du Sac,early childhood education
Cheyenne Gray, Mondovi, psychology
Craig Hubbard, Stevens Point, management
Kristopher Ikeler, Spring Green, construction
Logan Jacobson, Woodville, manufacturing engineering
Caroline Kroner, La Crosse, business administration
Lucas Lee, Amery, applied science
Cody Lewandowski, Fall Creek, information technology management
Mingge   Lu, Chippewa Falls, construction
Amy Matheson, Green Bay, business administration
Kristine Meshak, Stevens Point, human development and family studies
Alyssa Quilling, Elk Mound, applied social science
Mary Rivard, Reedsburg, retail merchandising and management
William   Seidler, Mountain, manufacturing engineering
Nicole Szymanski, Saint Paul, Minn., dietetics
Jonathan Wheeler, Eau Claire, art education
Elise Woik, Colby, psychology

View all news items