UW-Stout News Story

Seven students awarded Potential for Excellence Scholarship

May 21, 2013

The College of Education, Health and Human Sciences awarded scholarships to seven students at the recent Celebration of Teaching and Learning event at University of Wisconsin-Stout.

The students, four undergraduates and three from the Graduate School, were selected from more than 100 qualified applicants based on essays, recommendations and scholarly achievement.

The undergraduate students selected are:
• Erin Carr, of Eau Claire, majoring in art education
• Haley Hesselberg, of Holmen, marketing and business education
• Larissa Kannas, of Menomonie, human development and family studies
• Frances Mason, of Whitehall, vocational rehabilitation

The graduate students are:
• Ashlyn Cahill, of Minneapolis, vocational rehabilitation
• Lisa LeMay, of Minneapolis, marriage and family therapyStudents receive CEHHS scholarships
• Mai Bao Xiong, of St. Paul, marriage and family therapy

“The decisions were not easy,” said Renee Chandler, assistant professor in the School of Education. “The seven recipients are clearly committed to their field of study and articulated goals that indicate they will make meaningful contributions to their future professions.”

At the event the college also recognized other individuals:
• Outstanding undergraduate student: Amanda Fry, of Plainview, Minn., art education
• Outstanding graduate students: Kim Kowieski, of Elk Mound, food and nutritional sciences; and Sir Aaron Mason, of Menomonie, marriage and family therapy
• Teachers of the year: Melody Brennan, early childhood education; Julie Zaloudek, human development and family studies; Carol Seaborn, food and nutrition; and Susie Eberhard, rehabilitation and counseling
• Program directors of the year: Kyle Kleist, rehabilitation and counseling; and Kiki Gorbatenko-Roth, psychology

For more information about the college refer to www.uwstout.edu/admin/colleges/ehh.

View all news items