UW-Stout News Story

Five employees receive Safety Recognition Award

May 23, 2012

Five University of Wisconsin-Stout employees have been recognized for excellence in safety.

Martin Baumgartner, George Deflorin, Erick Edens, Kevin Goodell and Bradley Thornton received the university’s annual Safety Recognition Award at a reception hosted by the university’s Safety and Worker’s Compensation Committee.

Chancellor Charles W. Sorensen presented the awards, which recognize employees who demonstrate above-and-beyond safe work practices and help create a safety-conscious culture on campus.

Baumgartner, University Dining Services, was honored for creating safer workspaces and for communicating effectively about safety concerns.

Deflorin, Physical Plant, was recognized for identifying potential safety hazards and for modeling safe work practices.

Edens, Physical Plant, was honored for proactively addressing safety issues and for informing others of unsafe situations.

Goodell, Health and Safety, was recognized for developing a campuswide inventory of fire-safety equipment and sharing it with the campus community.

Thornton, Applied Arts, was recognized for implementing laboratory-safety training for students and for designing innovative safety systems.


View all news items