Press Release Details

Eight students named to state College All-Star Honors Band

February 3, 2014

Eight students represented the UW-Stout band at the 2014 Wisconsin Chapter of the National Band Association's annual conference held Jan. 17-19 in Wisconsin Rapids.

Honors band members, from left, Jacob Gutsch, Daniel Michael, Mathew Konichek, Cecil Dehart, Raelene Olson, Rachel Pollock, Erika McCusker and Ashley Svoboda. UW-Stout students selected to participate in the College All-Star Honors Band were:

Students were selected based on past musical participation, accomplishments and awards along with a recommendation by UW-Stout Band Director Aaron Durst.

The band consisted of 87 students from 15 Wisconsin colleges and universities. Students rehearsed for approximately nine hours with guest directors from around the state to prepare music for the concert.

Guest directors included Mark Eichner, UW-Parkside; Michael Knight, St. Norbert College; Jason Ladd, Marquette University; Rob McWilliams, UW-Oshkosh; and Mark Sackman, UW-Fox Valley. Robert Doersam is the All-Star Honors Band chair and responsible for organizing the group and rehearsals.

The College All-Star Band began in 2002 to encourage college professors and students to further participate within the National Band Association-Wisconsin Chapter. The first concert was held in 2003 at the Hotel Mead Ballroom in Wisconsin Rapids. Beginning in 2011 the band moved to the Lincoln High School Performing Arts Center.



Full Site